Tsiolkovsky ISFF Closing ceremony

The results of the Tsiolkovsky International Space Film Festival were summed up Kaluga Innovation Cultural Center. The winners were selected in three nomination categories: "Feature Film," "Documentary," and "Short Film." The Jury evaluated the works that made up the short-list of the festival. Of the 800 films submitted by directors from 80 countries, only 42 were included in this list.
The President of the Film Festival Igor Ugolnikov welcomed special guests: crew members from the Salyut space station!

Vladislav Shapsha spoke at the beginning of the ceremony. The Governor of the Kaluga Region congratulated everyone involved in the festival on its successful completion and wished Igor Ugolnikov the best of luck in his new undertaking.

I think the festival turned out interesting. And the first pancake in this sense was definitely not lumpy. Awards will be presented today, today we will rejoice for the winners, but the main result is a new bright star in the sky of our world cinema. Let this festival live, become annual, and we, Kaluga residents, will be always waiting for all of you. Congratulations on the wonderful event that has taken place - the Tsiolkovsky World Film Festival! " - said Vladislav Valerievich.

The Governor's Prize was awarded to Inna Evlannikova's film Belka and Strelka. Caribbean Mystery. The head of the region presented the prize to Ms. Lyubov Kuznetsova, the executive producer of the film.

The Kaluga film "He Was the First" won the competition for the fulldome films for planetariums. Andrey Lobanov, head of the Association of Planetariums of Russia, presented the award to Mr. Dmitry Fetisov, the head of the creative group and the head of the planetarium of the State Museum of the History of Cosmonautics named after K.E. Tsiolkovsky 

The documentary competition was won by the film “Searching for Light", directed by Adam Donnecky from Great Britain. The winner was announced by Igor Prokopenko, a panel member, documentary filmmaker, journalist, TV presenter, and writer.

"The best short film" was the film “Morpho", directed by Anastasia Shchuplova. The director of photography, Alexandra Amelina, was awarded the prize by Dmitry Yakunin, a panel member, producer, and executive director of the Youth Center of the Union of Cinematographers of Russia.

The winner of the competition "Put on a spacesuit" being held within the framework of the festival among Kaluga students was Pavel Vitko, who was lucky enough to try on a real "Sokol" rescue suit right on the stage.

The special prize of the Roscosmos State Corporation, a fragment of a launch vehicle, went to the documentary "The Observer" directed by Dmitry Semenov. The winner was announced by the director and screenwriter of the Roscosmos TV studio Alexey Kitaytsev. Dmitry Semenov gave his thanks for the award via video link.

The grand Prix "Klushantsev" for the best technical achievements in the film and the best special effects went to the full-length feature film "The Wandering Earth" (directed by Frant Guo from China). The head of the Algus Studio Alexey Gusev presented the prize to the President of the Silk Road Media production center Grigory Pelman.

Igor Ugolnikov awarded the Prize of the President of the Tsiolkovsky ISFF  to the short film "Algiz" of Kazakhstan director Kristina Mikhailova.

The Tsiolkovsky Grand Prix for Best Feature Film was won by the French drama Proxima directed by Alice Winocour. The prize will be handed over to the director of the film through the channels of the festival's partner, the Federal Agency for the Commonwealth of Independent States, compatriots living abroad, and international humanitarian cooperation (Rossotrudnichestvo).

The Grand Prize “Korolev” for the best art direction was awarded to the feature film “Sputnik” directed by Yegor Abramenko.
The film producers Fyodor Bondarchuk and Mikhail Vrubel received an award: statuettes and a unique painting from the creative workshop “Bezloska,” a partner of the festival, presented by Andrey Korolev, the grandson of Sergei Korolev.
Fyodor Sergeyevich, receiving the award, said that the theme of Russian space has been and always will be interesting across the world: “So let's open museums, hold festivals, shoot space movies, and then we will all have a cosmic success.”

In addition, awards for the last 2020 were presented at the Solemn Ceremony.

Legendary cameraman Sergei Astakhov and the head of the Algus Studio Alexei Gusev received the Grand Prize “Klushantsev” 2020 for technical achievements realized in the film “Salute – 7". The award was presented by the representative of XO Virtual Production, director of photography Andrey Gurkin.

Igor Ugolnikov presented the prize of the President of the  Tsiolkovsky ISFF 2020 to producer Timur Bekmambetov for the full-length feature film “Time of the First”.

The Polish film CUCKOOMAN (directed by Daniel Zagorski) was awarded the Special Journalist Prize. This was announced by the editor of the “Cinema” section of the portal Leonid Kiskarkin on the morning of April 17 at a press conference. In the same place, Valery Ruzin, President of the Eurasian Academy of Television and Radio, awarded the documentary "The Seagull" (directed by Manne, Armenia) with a Special EATR Diploma.

The Tsiolkovsky ISFF Closing Ceremony was attended by the Richter Symphony Orchestra of the Kaluga Regional Philharmonic, artistic 
director Vasily Valitov, conductor Konstantin Savinov. Soloist of the Kaluga Philharmonic Vadim Prikladovsky.

The Tsiolkovsky ISFF is held with a grant from the President of the Russian Federation, provided by the Presidential Grants Fund and with the support of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation, the Government of the Kaluga Region, the Roscosmos State Corporation, the State Museum of the History of Cosmonautics named after K.E. Tsiolkovsky, the State Film Fund of Russia, Bosco Manufactures LLC, Creative workshop “Bezloska,” and other commercial and public organizations.