International Space Film Festival Long List

The Selection Committee of the Tsiolkovsky International Space Film Festival has completed its work. About 800 films from more than 80 countries of the world have been reviewed. It was a tough choice, but it was settled. The Long List includes about 40 feature, documentary and short films by directors from Australia, Austria, Armenia, Brazil, Great Britain, Germany, Greece, Egypt, India, Spain, Iran, Kazakhstan, Canada, Kenya, Mexico, Poland, Russia, USA , Ukraine and France.

“The opening of the festival - April 12, 2021 - will take place on the day of the 60th anniversary of the space flight of the first cosmonaut of the Earth, Yuri Gagarin. During the celebration of this anniversary, we will be able to remind and tell about the great milestones in space exploration - and its reflection in world cinema, once again touch the variety of themes and images that were breathtaking in childhood and which continue to excite the imagination today ”, - Igor Ugolnikov, President of the Tsiolkovsky ISFF.

“A huge number of films were submitted to the film festival. I was impressed by the fact that not only traditionally space countries participate in the competitions, but the films about space are being produced in Africa and Asia. A few short meters, in my opinion, are worthy to become iconic films in the field of space. And, of course, it became more difficult to select 10-15 films for the competition. I am very glad that the artistic and technical level has become much higher. And documentary filmmakers find facts and stories that are poorly known even to space experts - and do interesting work on their basis, ”- Evgeny Aizikovich, General Producer of the Tsiolkovsky ISFF.

The film festival will take place from 12 to 17 April 2021 in Kaluga. The main festival venues are the K. E.  Tsiolkovsky State Museum of the History of Cosmonautics and the Kaluga Innovative Cultural Center. The program of the Film Festival will include screenings of competitive feature films, documentaries and short films (Shortlist), documentaries of the Roscosmos television studio, a special full-dome cinema program for the planetarium, retrospectives of the best domestic and foreign "space" films, lectures, creative meetings, master classes and round tables with the involvement of well-known filmmakers, representatives of the scientific community, science writers, cosmonauts and Roscosmos staff members.

The Tsiolkovsky ISFF is held with a grant from the President of the Russian Federation, provided by the Presidential Grants Fund and with the support of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation, the Government of the Kaluga Region, the Roscosmos State Corporation, the State Museum of the History of Cosmonautics named after K E.  Tsiolkovsky, of Russia and other commercial and public organizations.


Feature films:
«The nights we looked at the sky», David Gamboa Ortuzar, Spain, 2019
«CUCKOOMAN» Daniel Zagórski, Poland, 2017
«Across the 4th parallel», Anty Vens, Vangelis Papadiochos, Theodore Skaris, Tasos Poziadis, Greece, 2019
«Dark matter - The other side of life», Dmitry Pavlov, Russian Federation, 2020
«Seeking», David Cartwright, United States, 2020
«This film has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen 02», Khanhthuan Tran, Canada, 2020
«Проксима», Алис Винокур, Франция, Германия, 2019;
«Блуждающая Земля», Франт Гво, Китай, 2019;
«Спутник», Егор Абраменко, Россия, 2020;
«Белка и Стрелка. Карибская тайна», Инна Евланникова, Россия, 2020;
«Титан», Леннарт Рафф, Великобритания, Испания, США, Германия, 2018;
«Высшее общество», Клер Дени, Великобритания, Франция, Германия, Польша, 2018.

«Inside and Out», Caspar de Gelmini, Germany, 2020
«SKYLAB estd 1979», SIKHIL DAS, India, 2021
«THE PILOTS OF THE PLAN», Bruna Lessa, Brazil, 2020
«The Radkan Tower», Ehsan Mollazadeh, Hojjat Heidari, Iran, Islamic Republic of, 2019
«The Seagull», Manne, Armenia, 2019
«This Other World», David Regos, United States, 2020
«The Observer», Dmitry Semenov, Russian Federation, 2020
«Expansion», Jean-Baptiste DESBAN, France, 2020
«Searching For Light», Adam Donneky, United Kingdom, 2019
«Space Torah», Rachel Raz, United States, 2020
«GSLV Mark3», Dinesh Kumar, India, 2017
«Ancient Astronauts», Dwayne Buckle, United States, 2019
«Searching for Skylab: America's Forgotten Triumph», Dwight Steven-Boniecki, United Kingdom, 2019

«Solitude», Ian Abraham, Kenya, 2021
«Mission Backup Earth», Alexander Pfander, Germany, 2018
«The Visitor», Steve Call, United Kingdom
«As Above», Parsa Bozorgani, Iran, Islamic Republic of, 2020
«Murder in Spacetown», Ryan Consbruck, United States, 2020
«Mars Exposure 1.0», Nigel Gavus, Austria, 2020
«The 88th Galaxy Man», Paul Weston, Australia, 2020
«Algiz», Kristina Mikhailova, Kazakhstan, 2020
«SIDERAL», Isaac Zambra, Mexico, 2019
«Journey», Radheya Jegatheva, Australia, 2017
«Down to Earth», Christopher Fernandes, Canada, 2020
«Space Shot», Ian Abraham, Kenya, 2020
«When the Sun Came - Nick Jonah Davis», Martin McNally
«CHANGING FACES», Charles Francis Duda, United States, 2020
«Peperit8», Aaron J. J. Schmidt, Germany, 2020
«The Chronicles of Manimal and Samara "Mata Hari" Music Video», Daphne Ang, Andrea Papi, United Kingdom, 2020
«CREEP», Amll Askr, Egypt
«Message from the Stars», Ariel Pereira Quintela, Brazil, 2020
«Adam & Eve Mk II», Sebastian Kuder, United Kingdom, 2019
«Year Zero - Episode 1- In the Beginning - Short Horror Film Series», Isaac Rodriguez, United States, 2020
«Space Man», Mohammad Hossein Keshavarz, Ali Yahyaei, Iran, Islamic Republic of, 2020
«the truth / 2001», Oleksandr Hoisan, Ukraine, 2020
«Морфо», Анастасия Щуплова, Россия, Институт кино и телевидения (ГИТР);
«Покоряя мечты», Павел Палехин, Россия, ВГИК, 2019.